Rioja Tapas Fantasticas 2013

Today I visited the sixth Rioja Tapas Fantasticas food and wine festival on the riverbank under the beautiful shadow of Tower Bridge. This was my first time visiting and I have to say I was impressed. Before I had even reached the site I could smell the promising scent of the wonderful food to come .

The festival had the perfect mix of wine and food stalls with experts on their produce and the Spanish culture. Many of the food stalls were ‘tasters’ of the best Spanish restaurants in town, including The Good Food Guide Reader’s Restaurant of the Year London 2013, Boqueria Tapas. I tasted many of the treats on offer (its hard not too!) but the highlight  for me had to be the chicken, chorizo and rosemary paella from the Number 22 stall. It was perfection! I couldn’t leave the festival without trying the churros that were on offer from Churros Garcia. They absolutely didn’t disappoint. Sugary, cinnamon coated doughy sticks with a wonderful chocolate dip. Complete heaven!

I will definitely be attending again next year! A lovely day celebrating the best of Spanish culture.

Leave a Reply

